A memory of summer

Life was simple,
Plants just grew
I may eat the redcurrant
I must not touch the yew.

There are ants in the sand by the shed
Working so hard, soon they’ll be dead
At night there are cats and a hedgehog comes by
I sit on the swing and I think I can fly

Days lasted endless, summer was a year
Now, closing my eyes, the world is spinning
Ever faster, around the sun she goes.

My hands look worn, there are lines in my face
I long for marigolds.
Their scent is a hinge
In time, to slow down the pace,
of life.

Leave a Reply

