The Gods in the Garden

When we speak of Deity and the Divine there are many ways to perceive their energy. Do you identify Deity as archetypal energy, part of a larger Limitless Source, purely anthropomorphic or a synthesis of much more? 

I identify both God, who is to me a larger limitless Source, and closer Gods, energies of Beings that have chosen to engage themselves with us on our own plane of existence, the material world. Source cares for us all, but I find it hard to connect with that impersonal Energy. I guess some people can, but that I am just not enough of a mystic. I have always found it easier to relate to more personable Gods. And lately I have chosen to envision the hidden world much as my garden.

springflowers

My small suburban garden houses a myriad of species. Insects and other crawlers, tall trees and humble creeping plants. Glorious flowers and useful herbs. All have their uses, even if all they do is stand around being pretty. Some plants bloom in early spring, many flower in the summer, others in late autumn. And there are the rare species, who have their finest hour during the winter. In essence, all creatures in the garden are the same. They desire sun and rain, nourishment, all are tied to this one source, the One Garden. Yet for all their sameness, there is tremendous variety. Some are gentle and delicate, others are fierce and compete brutally with other beings. I do not have to wait on what the garden presents me. If I want something new to grow there, there is a lot I can do to make it grow and thrive. If I feel one Being gets the upper hand too much, I can prune it to my liking. I can sow new plants, combine and practice cross-pollination to create new Beings. And, if something does not thrive anymore or interferes too much with other Beings, it is possible that this Being disappears from the garden, either by my hand or by its own decision. It might withdraw itself, wither and fade. It may have left a seed though, which might sprout in an unexpected place and time.

I feel it is much the same with the Gods. They come in shapes, sizes, intentions and all in their own time. They are all connected to Source. They grow strong when they are served and acknowledged. Yet they are subjected to the seasons too. When no interest is being taken in them, they starve, or bide their time in the long, dark winter. The old Gods and Goddesses of Europe have lain dormant for many years, in the dried out soil below the towering monotheistic trees. Now that these trees are pruned, a multitude of them sees the sunlight once more. Properly tended, they are woken up and enrich the garden with their presence.

2 thoughts on “The Gods in the Garden

  1. I love this post! I’m an amateur (if enthusiastic!) gardener myself and I can also see connections between spiritual and natural ecosystems. We (humans, gods, spirits, and other assorted entities) are all part of a very, very complicated web of relationships. (I think this is what you’re calling Source?) It’s easy to want one particular plant to thrive, but if we aren’t aware of the health of local pollinator populations or the existence of garden pests or the pH of our soil then we can often wind up baffled as parts of our garden fail and others unexpectedly thrive. But if we take the time to learn about our local microclimate, our own abilities and interests in the garden, and accept that some variables are simply out of our control, then we’re more likely to have a thriving garden and to be happy gardeners. Likewise, I think putting our divine relationships in a greater context helps us (and Them) get the most out of those relationships.

    Like

  2. I find gardening very stimulating and even credit it with my spiritual awakening after being so disappointed with organised religion. There are indeed many parallels, nice you perceive that too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

